Success Stories

Preview Study University of Copenhagen:     Personal Testimony   Feb 2, 2017

Joining the PREVIEW Program has been the biggest challenge in my life. Committing to a three year project and a total change of lifestyle was vital for my health and wellbeing.

My first goal was to lose 8 kilos and when I achieved that after 2 months, I was ready to lose more weight and to follow the program completely.

The real challenge came when I had to focus on food and exercise 24-7 and constantly planning my day. The dietician and group meetings were the key to maintain motivation.

22 kilos lighter, much healthier, stronger and fitter, I have 100% improved my quality of life. I couldn’t have done this without support from my twin sister (who’s also in the program with big success!), my boyfriend and family.

I don´t regret the hard effort for a minute and I am determined not to gain weight again. I am excited to find my own way with food and exercise when the PREVIEW Program ends.

Preview Study University of Helsinki:     Personal Testimony   Jan 5, 2017

I am 69 years old man, living in Helsinki, Finland.

A little bit more than 3 years ago I saw an announcement in the local newspaper looking for candidates to participate in a PREVIEW STUDY.  I decided immediately to send my application.

There were several reasons for my interest. My personal doctor had many times kindly asked me to improve my way of living due to overweight, high blood pressure, atrial fibrillation and slightly high glucose and cholesterol levels etc. After interviews and different tests I was accepted to participate in the study.

I started the study at the end of January 2014. At that time my weight was 101 kg and BMI 31. During the study my life has remarkably improved due to healthier diet and increased physical activity.

Two months after starting I did not need any more blood pressure medication at all. I have also gradually reduced medication for atrial fibrillation by 80 %. My weight has been quite stable up to today after the first half year of the study. It has varied between 81 and 83 kg (and BMI around 25). The waist has decreased around 20 cm. The fat percentage has decreased from 29 % to 15 %. My cholesterol level is now better than ever. The fasting blood glucose level has been approximately in the same level as before the study but glucose tolerance measured by oral glucose tolerance test has clearly improved.

I am very happy now as well as my personal doctor, when she heard the positive results of the study. I warmly want to thank all members of the Finnish Preview study team. They have been wonderful and always ready to help us when needed. I have decided to continue my living in the same way also in the future as during the study (the end of Study/January 2017).

Preview Study Medical University Sofia:     Personal Testimony   Jan 24, 2017

"I’m 39 years old, and I’m from Sofia. Before starting the PREVIEW project, I was a cute chubby IT specialist who was a paraglider in my leisure time.

I had many health problems – high blood cholesterol-9 mmol/l, my blood glucose was always on the border with diabetes. A friend told me about this project PREVIEW. I passed the screening. I was the “best specimen” for this study – a prediabetic with a high BMI!

I was already health concerned, and I was determined this time to ‘battle” my weight. The programme was for free which was perfect. I followed the regimen. Week after week my kilograms were “melting”.

I was satisfied. Then, at the end of the 2-month period I was 107 kilograms, my dream came true. My blood glucose was 4.5 mmol/l (in the normal healthy range). But this was the easiest part. The hardest was to maintain the obtained weight. I realized that I had to change the way I was eating before, and to include increased physical activity. Both factors would lead me to success.

Now, 3 years later I can say:
•   I learnt how to prepare delicious but low-caloric food;
•   I learnt which foods that I like, not to consume;
•   I learnt that most of the foods have healthier alternatives;
•   I learnt that people are different, and that what’s useful for one could be bad for another;
•   I learnt that it’s not only what you eat, but also when you eat;
•   I learnt that no medicine can replace physical activity

Lastly but not least, during the project I became a father!

Preview Study Medical University Sofia:     Personal Testimony   Jan 24, 2017

I’m 43 years old, and I’m from Sofia. I’ve never been overweight till I was 25 years old.

At that age I became a mother, and I put 25 kilograms. At 32 I gave a birth for a second time, and I reached 102 kilograms. This was the beginning of my nightmare. For 12 months I was “jumping” from diet to diet. I started being active. I got down to 95 kg.

At that time, I heard about the project PREVIEW. I went for an examination.  Thanks to the doctors, after 3 months I was down to 75 kg. I couldn’t believe it. Finally, I was slim…How did my life change?  I found the love of my life.

I started my own business, and now, everything is different, towards better.  I learnt that:

•   One can’t have a harmonious body with an unbalanced diet and a lack of exercise;
•   There isn’t an universal diet;
•   Everything is in my hands. All one have to do, is to decide that a change is needed;

The first step is to search for a specialist who will develop an individual diet after the necessary measurements and laboratory results are known.

Stop roaming – find PREVIEW!

Thanks……

Preview Study University of Auckland:     Personal Testimony   Dec 12, 2016

Three years ago in July just before my birthday - I saw an ad in the Western Leader - wanting people to take part in a 3 year study run by Auckland Hospital around weight loss and the effects this may have on reducing or eliminating diabetes in your body.

You had to be 55... I was 54 and desperate to be 55 in order to undertake the study... On my 55th birthday - I contacted them and said "Will you accept me now?".

After preliminary testing - the results showed that I was a candidate for the study. 120kg and pre-diabetic, high blood pressure and morbidly obese. (not something that I have ever owned up to publicly amongst friends and family).  The body scan that shocked me was done by Auckland Hospital - and results showed that 50% of my body was FAT.... So my journey began.

The first 12 weeks were intense, with lots of support from the NZ PREVIEW team, then slowly as the weeks and months drew out.... the support lessened (although I always knew they were there), and the weigh in's went from monthly to 6 monthly and then about 8 months apart. Throughout this process - there was constant monitoring of the effects on my health, my body, my muscle and fat ratio, and my blood sugar levels. I had struggles, yep definitely. It was something that I was doing for myself...not going to a weight loss clinic, or group.. I was on this mission for me. It wasn't all easy - food has always been my crutch, especially when times are hard, and loosing mother this year...was a tough time - but for once I didn't resort to stuffing down my feelings..... I decided the best legacy I could leave her was to look after myself and get myself fit for my beautiful family (all of them).

I have a LOT more living that I want to do. So here I am 3 years later...officially completing the NZ Preview study.. My body is thanking me for being no longer pre-diabetic, for being healthier than I have in a very long time. I can walk for miles, I can keep up with kids, I can jump on the tramp with my grandies, I look 'better' in a wet suit than at 120 kg, I can walk up hill with the pups and still breathe at the top of the hill, I can buy clothes that I like,(instead of those that just 'fit ' me).. the list goes on and on...I go on Thursday evening to the celebration and meet up with the other people that I started this journey along side...we all have our own stories to tell, and each and every one of us..have our own results. So where to now?.... I weigh 85kg. thats a loss of 35kg. Still 5 kg until I reach my goal weight for me..I will always have to be aware of what I eat, I will always need to keep my eye on that ultimate goal - HEALTH and HAPPINESS.

Thank you each and every one of you - for the part that you have played in my journey...I never felt alone".

Preview Study University of Auckland:     Personal Testimony   Nov 11, 2016

Preview was an opportunity for me to become myself and grow into the person I wanted to be. I will always feel grateful for chance to lose weight quickly and regain a normal BMI and normal blood sugars and turn my life around to become the fit and healthy woman I am.

Since I commenced on the Preview study I've run 6 half marathons including one in France with my siblings, I walked 100kms for Oxfam in 24 hours and ran the Queenstown marathon last November.

The exercise is the easy bit because its so enjoyable. However, food is often a challenge and I have to stay mindful, the habits that got me overweight are just lurking and I have to regularly recommit to eating to a plan. Thanks

Preview Study United Kingdom:     Personal Testimony Monday, 20 April 2016

In 2005, my mum died of type 2 diabetes and, after years of battling with weight gain, I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism. By 2012, my self-confidence had plummeted: I was obese, depressed and pre-diabetic.

I leapt at the chance of joining the Preview programme and began on April 1st 2014. The Preview programme has been a life line for me, with both physical and psychological benefits.

I am off medication for high blood pressure and my blood glucose is healthy.  I am leaner, fitter, look years younger and I enjoy dressing up again!

Since my initial weight loss, I have maintained my weight of around 65 kilos for two years with a healthy diet and regular exercise. My husband, a type 1 diabetic, has joined me in my new lifestyle and done exceptionally well, reducing his BMI from 32 to 24.”

Preview Study United Kingdom:     Personal Testimony Monday, 12 April 2016

"I am 67 yr old, living in Nottingham, UK. About two and half years ago a letter dropped on my mat from my GP asking if I would consider taking part in the PREVIEW Study.

It could not have arrived at a better time as l had been saying for a long time that l should lose weight but not doing anything about it. It turned out to be a life changing letter,

When I was accepted on to PREVIEW I was 93 kg, over the next few months l came down to 68kg.

If 3 years ago someone had told me l would be going to the gym 3 times a week and getting withdrawal symptoms if l missed a day l would have been asking which planet they came from. I know l am lucky getting that letter and all the brilliant back up from everyone on the PREVIEW team. Thank you.

Preview Study Australia:     Personal Testimony Monday, 14 March 2016

In March 2014, I was advised by my GP that I had raised sugar levels and would be a candidate for possible diabetes in the future.

I noticed the ad for the Preview Study and enquired if I might be a candidate. Having the interview and checking out my suitability I was accepted. 

Prior to the meal replacement phase my wife Louise asked were there any foods to supplement the shakes. Being told I could have free rein with salads she laughed as I am a noted salad avoider.

Since losing the initial weight and maintaining the program for almost 2 years (March) I am still almost 15kgs lighter than when I first entered the study. My blood pressure is classed as perfect for my age (68) and I no longer need the sleep apnoea machine I used for 2 years previously. 

I can say without doubt that the study has certainly worked for me.  I have recommended the study to many and am pleased to say one of those folk has been accepted and done exceptionally well.

© 2017   Created by Jennie Brandmiller.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service